top of page

How NOT to lose RM2.5k


I know, I shouldn’t start my first post with my BIG travel-related mistake! But yeah, Im gonna pop your bubble.

Traveling is not all rainbows & unicorns.

I felt this huge urge to get this out there because I dont want another person to make a silly little mistake and lost a huge amount of money!!!

*takes a deep breath*

Ok hello kids. This is how I lost RM2.5k because of my stupidity.

I was super excited when I saw a promo by Malaysian Airlines. RM2.5k for a return ticket? Thats not bad! So I bought it instantly. Fast forward, I cant make it for the outbound flight (KUL-LHR) because of personal reasons.

Then I thought, oh thats okay because I can just buy new one way ticket because I still have my inbound ticket! (LHR-KUL). The ticket that I bought was a promo ticket so I cant change the date. I was still kinda sad but at least theres something out of my RM2.5k! Or so I thought.

One day before flying to UK, I called MAS to confirm my inbound ticket and BAMM reality slapped me hard!

Apparently if you didn't use your outbound ticket they will automatically forfeit your inbound ticket! I guess the logic here is, if you didn't go to that place, why on earth do you need a return ticket! Customer service said I should have called earlier (yes, I know I am so stupid!!!) but even if I did call them earlier, they cant promise anything! Maybe you can still use your inbound ticket but with additional charge.

So yeah. I just spent RM2.5K for nothing. People say every mistake is a lesson BUT OH MY GOD MY LESSON COST ME RM2.5K. This is a very expensive lesson indeed.

Imagine how many bubble tea I can buy for RM2.5K.

Therefore, if you want to buy promo ticket, make sure you can make it on the date that you have chose or MAKE A PHONE CALL TO ASK EARLIER ON. DO NOT ASSUME.

bottom of page